Book Review: Eternal Night by Alayna Ravenwood

“Tragedy forced darkness into a person’s heart”

Alayna Ravenwood, Eternal Night

Hey book nation,

I’m here with another book review. I received this book in exchange for an honest review via netgallery. All thoughts and opinions are my own. So let’s get to it

1.jpg

Pages: 216

My Rating: 2/5

Release date: 2nd September 2016

Series: First book in the Fates of Betrayal series

Issue: ebook, review copy

My thoughts:

It wasn’t bad.

It just wasn’t the best it could possible be.

The author is great and the writing was really good. There were some points that topics such as war were mentioned and the characters discussed it. And i really loved the views that were written.

I think though, in the scene where they are having a debate on war, that what they were saying was a bit unbelievable. These are teenagers so I found it hard to vision them actually saying this. Plus i also found it hard to understand what it was they were saying (but that could just be i wasn’t paying attention idk)

The second half of this book was 50% better than the first half. I found that i wasn’t able to get into the first half but by the time i reached 70% i had finally started to want to read more of it. I was going to stop reading it and have it as a dnf. So i took a little break to read ACOTAR and ACOMAF and i think that was what i needed to keep going. The first half was hard to understand and felt like it dragged on so i needed that break to just clear my head and try again.

The last 30% was great and if the rest of the book had been like this i would have loved it. But i was still as confused as i was in the first half. I think that anyone who wishes to read this book should, but also keep a pen and paper nearby so you can write down facts and who is related to who. Because that is what confused me the most. As well as some of the powers in this book.

This book felt a lot like twilight/ vampire academy. This is a fantasy book and the creatures in this book felt a lot like vampires so that was what i was envisioning. It also had a forbidden love story which i hated.

It is written in first person but switches between a number of characters. I found that i liked reading Anna and Blake’s chapters the most as they were easier to understand and more interesting.

As for the forbidden romance. I didn’t really like that part of the book and it felt forced to me. I love books that have romance in them and am all for it, but i just couldn’t get into this one. It really annoyed me how she shouldn’t be with this guy but still wants to be, like move on chick! (it just didn’t feel right to me)

This book was a difficult read, and anyone who reads it must be paying attention. I normally pay attention in books but as i found it hard to get into i wasn’t paying as much attention as i should’ve. But it was too confusing to wrap my head around in some parts.

I do want to read the second book because of the ending of this one. I’m thinking this book was just setting up for some great things to happen later on.

what books have you been reading lately? anything you suggest?

until next time,

check out my goodread’s review here

goodreads description:

A dark secret lies in her past. A magical world exists just out of reach. A hidden destiny awaits her.

After a tragic murder and year of lost memories, Anna finds her world shrouded in mystery. Only the elusive Blake seems to have any answers, but pursuing his knowledge takes Anna down a dangerous path. As she begins to unlock pieces of the puzzle, she gets closer and closer to wanting someone she can’t have while unlocking a dormant power she isn’t sure she can control.

Nightfall Academy is only the beginning of a world of deceit, lust, and vengeance. Learning you are part of an ancient race of mages and falling for a dark prince are nothing compared to what Anna’s future holds. If she can handle the power in her blood, she may reunite a lost realm with its past.

And our world could get caught in the crossfire.

One thought on “Book Review: Eternal Night by Alayna Ravenwood

Leave a Reply

