Book Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.”

Hello members of the Book Court,

(I was going to say spring court but i’ve just finished A court of mist and fury and i don’t think i want to explain.)

joker

Pages: 416

My Rating: 5/5

Release date: 5th May 2015

Series: first book in the Court Of Thorns And Roses Series

Issue: paperback, brought (and beyond happy that I did)

My thoughts:

Holy mother of God,

This book, THIS BOOK. Okay I don’t know how I feel. I love it so much thorns and all. Except for the fact that there were no thorns because it was perfect. The reason I don’t know how I feel is because it is so close to being my favourite. But the  Throne of Glass series Is my favourite and I’m not willing to give it all up over just this one book. But I am so close to. After reading just half of it I was ranting to my friend on how much I love ToG and am not ready to see another book series take it.

I mean I have made such a big deal over ToG being the best book series ever and that nothing will ever beat it. And this is so close to beating it and I don’t know if I can handle that.

So instead of deciding i am just going with both series forever being my family. ACOTAR is like my baby and TOG is like a teenager. I love them both but like ACOTAR is so new to my mind and its a bit more important at the moment to me.

Okay, enough of the fight between my favourites and onto the book:

It was written so well. If it wasn’t for the fact I had people over the next day I would have stayed up all night to finish reading it. And considering I was only halfway through at 11pm, I would be  staying awake until 5am. But it was all good I just read it the second they left and read until 10:30. Who cares about sleep right, especially when you have school the next day and need to wake up at 6.

But this book was worth it. It was so bloody good. Although I had heard some things from pinterest about certain things. Which made me not love certain characters as much as they deserved. But the second I read the quote “I love you… thorns and all” I had to close the book, scream, reopen the book, reread the chapter and scream again. I have heard that quote so many times and all along I thought it was a different character who said it but that is okay. It was perfect and was totally unexpected. I didn’t think It would come from that person or at that time, I figured it would come at the end and like i said from another character. (I understand just how confusing that sentence is to read but i’m currently fan girling so like)

So that is my favourite quote of all books I have ever read (sorry Celaena, I do love your sass but this one beats your death threats).

I knew this book was written in first person so I was a bit wary, I have gotten so use to third person that I pretty much only read books in third person for a while. So I was a little scared I wouldn’t like it and would be too annoyed not knowing everything that was going on. But I LOVED it. I can say it is the best book I have read that is in first person (I’m trying so hard not to let ToG be taken on my favourites list).

The book was so beautifully written and I loved everything about it. I actually had no clue about what it was about. All I knew what that the main character was taken into the Fae realms because she killed a Fae.  So I had no clue what was going to happen once she got there. But I was so not let down. It was beautiful, my vocabulary cannot describe how utterly amazing this book is!

The characters, the plot line, the writing, everything! Everything was done so well!

So I read it over two days, the first night I stayed up to 11 reading it, then I went to sleep, woke up at 7 and reread a few of the chapters from the night before. Not because I didn’t remember them, but because they were so beautiful that I just had to reread them. There were some chapters I reread three times, It was amazing, it will be hard for me not to just read this book over and over again. I am already planning on when I will be able to reread it.

I had previously heard that the throne of glass and the ACOTAR world could possibly be able to open portals to each other.so in head this meant the world were alike. Oh how I was wrong. Faes still have mates and can have powers similar to TOG but it is still very different. But them being different was good, I wanted the two series to be different. It just sucks this one was soooooo good and is about ready to beat Tog. I don’t want to admit it has yet but, so I will have to wait for ACOMAF.

I have seen so much on Ryhsand, so I have a sneaky suspicion a lot will be going down in ACOMAF.

I also have a suspicion on  what colour the third book will be. In this book near the start Feyre mentions that the only gift her sister has ever gotten her was paint, and the only colours she got where red, blue and yellow because they couldn’t afford more. What colour is ACOTAR– red, what colour is AOMAF—blue. What colour do I think the next one will be, yellow.

The second I read her say these three colours I imagined the next one being yellow. It could be green though as well, that would also be cool.

I really liked this book, and I am so sorry for my terrible review. Can’t quite call it a review, more like me repeating it is amazing and a whole lot of blabbering on. But it was awesome and if you haven’t read it yet, I swear to god that you will not be disappointed. I can’t believe I was going to waited until I found ACOTAR in the shops to get it. I should have ordered it online the day I ordered the assassin’s blade.

What kind of idiot waits until they find the book in store to buy it, seriously, I should have brought this book months ago online. But I the second I saw it and angels sung as I picked it up and it’s buddy ACOMAF beside it up and brought it. Well brought it after I cry. ACOTAR is the only book I have not been able to find in book stores when I wanted to.

 

Okay so i did just write a lot more but it was just repeating everything like eight more times and i figured i should come back and rewrite it. So here some more i have added to make this a little bit more of a review and not mindless rambling.

The world Feyre lives in has been split in to. After the war between the Faes and humans the magical creatures took the north of the land and left the south to the humans. Building a wall between the two. This wall was meant to stop people and fae from being able to cross but after so many years the wall has gotten some holes allowing animals to sneak through.

Feyre is in the woods and starving as it is winter and she hasn’t been able to find food in a while. Being winter with no animals around she had to hunt a bit closer to the wall than usual. One thing leads to another and she killed a Fae.

This is against the treaty and she is dragged over the wall and into the spring court to live with Tamlin. oh Tamlin, i have many things i would like to say to you but i will save it for the ACOMAF review.

There are 7 courts in Prythian. The seasons and the solstice. Autumn, winter, spring, summer, dawn, night and day.

And there are many types of fae.

High Lords- one per court who is basically like a king, but not called a king

High Fae- who i think are just like pure bred maybe. They look the same as high lords but don’t have the powers.

Lesser Fae- who can look like many different things, blue skin or tree bark skin. These fae are like the working class

then there are suriel who know all the answers to every question

Once feyre is in the spring court and has adjusted to living in it she comes to find out the world of the fae might not be so deadly as myths have said, but it also not as glorious as it looks. There is a powerful force that lives within cause a hell of a lot of issues. things go down. Under the Mountain. I cry, you cry, we all cry. the first half of the book is fantastic, but it’s the second half that things really go down.

Sarah j maas is a goddess, I am sarah j maas trash

to see my goodread’s review click here

Okay so a little update on my Nanowrimo. ummmm. i’m way behind, i’ve realised that my story was pretty boring and annoying. I will edit it eventually and try and make it better. I think i might just need to open a new doc and restart it. But I also started to write another book… because i was bored and procrastinating. Either way here that one is.

Goodreads description:

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

One thought on “Book Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses

Leave a Reply

