Book Review: Bone Witch Rin Chupeco

“Then perhaps we should carve a world one day where the strength lies in who you are, rather than in what they expect you to be”

Rin Chupeco, Bone Witch

Hello Fellow Readers,

I have just finished reading Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco, and before I begin with the review I would just like to point out how hard it was for me to pick what quote from the book to begin with. While I was reading I found so many saying/quotes that I loved and I couldn’t pick between them, they all have great messages. So for now, that’s the quote.

30095464

I have many feelings about this cover. I love the purple, gold, writing and the bone. The only thing I am septical about, is the girl on the cliff. I can’t decide whether I like it or not. (comment below what you think about it)

Pages: 400

My Rating: 4/5

Release date: 7th March 2017

Series: First book in the bone witch series

Issue: ebook, review copy provided by netgallery in exchange for an honest review

my thought:

This book was not what I expected at all but was so amazing.

Like I said before this book had so many nice quotes/ saying in it that I thought was really nice. Normally when I read a book I cannot find any of the ‘quotes’ everyone else obsesses over. Once I finish reading the book I normally go and search for the quotes and then realise when it happened in the book and obsess. But as I read I normally don’t pick up on them. Except with this book, I loved them all so much so I just marked where they were so I could come back to them.

Also on the fact of nice things. There is a male character in this book who wants to pursuit a career previously only meant for females. I love how this book included things like boys liking dolls and dancing and females being good at fighting etc. I thought that was so amazing, especially the fact this boy was better at dancing than half the girls and was excellent at picking hair pins.

Speaking of hair pins. This book gave me a very Japanese vibe, I don’t know if it was intentional or not but that’s what I went with. The clothing was called a ‘hua’ and I couldn’t find what that was or if it was actually a thing. So I decided, based off the description that it was now a Kimono. And all the rooms were like Japanese rooms with tatami flooring. I started reading this book when my japanese class started to watch a movie on Maiko’s so that might be why I made all these comparisons. So as I read, everyone wore Kimono’s, had their hair and make up like Maiko’s and hung out in traditional japanese rooms.

p10-schilling-maiko-a-20140918

As for the actual story. This book was like nothing I have read before, personally. It is written in two points of views, one which is someone telling a story and the other is the person listening to it. Because of these points of view the story switched between what was happening currently and what happened to led to that point. By the end the two hadn’t caught up so I’m assuming there is a lot more to come in another book, maybe more.

There is romance in this book but I don’t think it is anywhere close to the main story line. The main character, Tea, does like another character. But the story is more about her journey as a Dark Asha who can raise the dead and use other dark magic. Oh and i almost forgot. So this book has magic and stuff, they draw it from runes. Which is just the elements (i’m pretty sure at least) plus the dark runes. and they draw symbols to activate the magic sometimes so yeah just a little tog in there. hahaha sorry i didn’t intend to make a tog reference

I went the whole story pronouncing her name as Tia (tea-ya) rather than tea (t). Mostly because i wanted it to have two syllables. But I haven’t been able to find anything which tell me the correct way.

Also at the beginning of the book is a map and at the end is a little guide to the many kingdoms and their customs/ history. As I read it as a ebook I didn’t look back at the map, but I do think it would come in handy if you had a physical book of it. Also I didn’t see the kingdom guide until the end, that definitely would have come in handy as I read it. But then again I was able to read the book and understand so.

The only reason this book didn’t get five stars was because there was about four chapters about 60% into the book which went forever. Apart from these chapters the pacing of the book was fabulous and as a whole it was a very intriguing book. I will be reading the second book when it comes out and I am also slightly annoyed I read this book before it’s actual release because now I have to wait even longer for the next book.

I really hope that was an okay review. this book was awesome in case you didn’t get the memo and I recommend you pick it up for your March read’s next year.

what did you think about the cover? read the book description down below and let me know what you think.

here is my goodread’s review if you want another quote from this book/ another (smaller) review.

goodread’s description:

When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.

In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha — one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Bone Witch Rin Chupeco

Leave a Reply

