Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

“My star-touched queen,” he said softly, as if he was remembering something from long ago. “I would break the world to give you what you want.”

Hey Book Nation,

How are we all going this fine evening (or morning/afternoon)? Today I bring you my book review on The Star-Touched Queen. However, before I begin, I would like to remind you all that I mean no offense at all to people who liked this book. Maybe it just wasn’t for me.

1.jpg

Pages: 342

My Rating: 2/5

Release date: 26th April 2016

Series:Stand alone book. However I believe a companion book is coming next year

Issue: ebook, review copy provided by netgallery in exchange for an honest review

my thought:

(again these are just my own opinions i don’t mean to offend anyone by saying this)

Oh my thoughts on this book. Where to begin. (in advanced this review is all over the place… sorry)

2.jpg

Did you see the quote I had at the top? Basically every line of the book was something like that. Not actually every line but most. And I couldn’t handle it. Sure, put quotes in the book why not? But does the whole thing have to be full of quotes that are to complex for the characters. The whole thing felt like they were trying to make memorable quotes throughout the entire book. But it all felt forced to me. Plus that quote reminds me of ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ and the mating bonds in both Sarah J Maas’ series. However, i did not feel the connection between the characters in this book like I did in ACOMAF. I didn’t think the two main characters belonged together.

 

 

The main character, Maya, at the beginning acted as if she was the most dangerous thing ever. People fled from her. But the second she joined this mysterious guy she becomes shy and doesn’t know how to act. Common’ you were just a force to be reckoned with now you are riding off into the sunset with some guy. Which, by the way, she said she didn’t want to marry a guy anytime soon.

1

‘There my queen,’ he said, ‘a constellation to wear in your hair.’ ‘My star-touched queen,’ he said softly, as if remembering something from a long time ago. ‘I would break the world to give you what you want.’

I felt the romance in this book was forced. It was instalove without a doubt. And yes, I am aware that sometimes I say I love this. But that is because it’s done well. The characters actually have traits that support each other. But this was not like that. These characters didn’t go well together (in my opinion).

And by instalove, i mean she went right from not wanting to marry a guy to meeting this guy and doing some action which meant they would get married, in four seconds.

maya: i will not marry a guy. I am a forced to be reckoned with

guy: your country is in danger i am the only one who can help

maya: rightyo let’s go

I understand he can help your country and all but did you have to marry him?

Plus the back and forth between loving him and hating him drove me nuts. She fell in love with him because he saved (?) her and because he was mysterious and promised her the world. But she also couldn’t trust him because he didn’t tell her things. But he couldn’t tell her what she wanted to know because there was this magic rule thingy that wouldn’t allow it until the moon was full.

Speaking about the moon. The world building in this was horrible. I’m sorry but i had to say it. I only realised 60% into the book that time moved slower in this magic place. But then again, i’m still not sure because it wasn’t explained well. There was a war within like five days and some guy aged a lot so I am assuming time moved faster in the mortal world.
This book talks a lot about stars, fate and horoscopes. So if you are into that go for it. But, i must warn. I am all for stars, I love them, they are gorgeous. But I just couldn’t deal with that much of it. Every reference was towards the stars.

I loved the idea of fate and how certain threads could be chosen to alter the future. But none of it was explained very well.

Maybe it was just me but I felt that the long descriptions were put into the wrong things. There was too much put into trying to make awesome quotes, which admittedly some were pretty good if you ask me (not all, some). And there wasn’t enough put into the world building. I still have no clue where they were. I thought this magic world was through a forest, over a bridge and down a tunnel. But apparently not? I’m still confused.

All the facts I needed to know where hard to understand because they were written in the most complex ways.

1.jpgOne in every five fantasy books has a riddle that needs to be solved. This one had three. Not for any plot movement, just because. The main character gives three riddles to a secondary character to distract him so she can run off. Did she really have to? no, she could have just said ‘look i’m tired catch ya’ and then walk off in the direction of her bedroom which is where she needed to go anyways.

I thought the idea of this book was great and was really interested. I made it about 40% of the way ignoring the fact half the words written didn’t need to be there and were to hard to understand. But after that it just dragged on and on. I couldn’t handle it.

The plot was hidden somewhere underneath it all. But i couldn’t find it because i couldn’t decode all the words. Have you ever watched the friends episode where joey uses the thesaurus to rewrite whole speech? I know this author didn’t do that, but it was just as hard to figure out what she meant.

Also! the main character’s best friend was a horse who was introduced around 60% of the way through. Not just a normal average horse. No! a talking horse who I believe eats humans (?) the horse said it would like to take a bite out of the mc so I’m going with it eats humans. Plus near the end it said something about only eating them if she asked. I don’t know about you, but even if i lived in a magical world, i would not befriend a creature who says it eats your kind. I’m sorry, I’m not that trustworthy. but it literally asked if it could take a bite or two out of her.

I suggest if you want to read this book to read a preview first. If you enjoy it then go forth and read. But if you are like me and are unable to decode the messages beneath it all then maybe don’t.

There are people who loved this book so don’t let me stop you. All I am saying is that I didn’t feel there was much world building or plot in general. Also the characters felt undeveloped. I did however like the idea of this book 🙂

As my positive for this book, I loved the cover. Very pretty.

have you read this book? What did you think? I’m thinking maybe halfway through next year i will give it another chance… maybe.

like always here is my goodread’s review in case you want to check it out.

Goodread’s description:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.

One thought on “Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Leave a Reply

