Book Review: Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secrets by J.K Rowling

“Honestly, if you were any slower, you’d be going backward.”
J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Hey Book Nation,

and welcome back for another one of those reviews were I continuously mention how stupid I was for not reading this book sooner

224912

Pages: 251

My Rating: 5/5

Release date: May 28th 1999

Series: Second book in the Harry Potter series

Issue: Paperback copy, brought

my thought:

Now I know I’m not the only person in the world who hasn’t finished this series. But, I still feel really annoyed with myself that I let my grade four self judge this book even though I probably didn’t read it properly (i was one of those kids who thought it was cool to come to school and say i finished a book so never actually read them properly just skipped through it all)

But I have decided to go a little easier on myself considering the fact I am reading the books now. I’m not reading all seven books in one go which is annoying everyone in my family. But I am reading them between every two or three books I read. So I will get there. There is no real reason behind why I am doing it. I just think that reading a book for the first time feels so awesome and it isn’t exactly the same the next time you do it so i want to really enjoy these books not rush through them.

But that is an issue. Because while I read this book I wanted to tuke my time and not rush but at the same time I wanted to hurry up and get to the end because it was awesome. i had this book done in two days and I will admit I was extremely dumb…

Not only because it was a fabulous book and I should’ve savoured it. But because I spent my study time in class reading this book when I should’ve been studying for my maths test the next day. but who needs to pass the most important test of the year right *nervous laughter followed my banging my head on the wall like dobby*

speaking of Dobby, I love him so much! he is so adorable (yes i know what happens).

So enough about my reading life and into the actual book. It was fantastic. The chambers of secrets is my favourite Harry Potter movie and I was really pumped to read this book considering how similar the first movie was to the book. Everyone involved in harry potter deserves a patt on the back for three reasons. 1) no movie poster on the cover of the books. 2) very accurate book to movie adaptation and 3) IT’S A BLOODY FANTASTIC BOOK.

speaking of bloody. Does Ron say ‘Bloody hell’ a lot in the books. Because I don’t think I am picking up on it as much as I do in the movies.

Once again Hermonie saves the day. That girl is my favourite. i aspire to be like her and I’ve only read two books. She is so smart and I am coming to realise as I type this that if I wanted to be like her I would not have given up my chance to study for maths by reading this book. But I really wanted it finished and I couldn’t help it.

Okay sorry, keep getting off topic. Once again Draco amazes me. Not because he is evil and witty but because of that awesome quote that I put in earlier. Oh god, it killed me reading that line. ‘If you were any slower you’d be going backwards’ i think i must have laughed for a good ten minutes.

The writing in this book is fabulous and I know it’s probably because i’ve watched the movies but it is really descriptive and I could imagine it all clearly. Once again probably because there is a movie to go off. But I still enjoyed it. It is also at a really good pace and I was never bored.

I’m sorry but I must admit I skipped some of it. ONE PAGE. calm down, it was one page…. only because i really wanted to see what happened and I couldn’t handle it. But if I’m being completely honest… the greatest books are the ones that have you on the edge of your seat wanting to know what happens next. The ones where you stay up until the sun is rising to see the outcome. (the ones you know you should be studying but don’t (oh god pray for me and this test))

What Harry Potter Book is your favourite? have you read them yet or are you like me.

So I have been adding onto my pile of procrastination and writing a story which you can see here. It’s called dieheart and here is the description:

I was the chosen one, and by that I mean, the one who was intended to be sacrificed to Itari, the God of the sun, moon and all the stars. He was also the bastard who failed the one job he had. Although I won’t forgive him from trying to kill me, I would help him get back the item he lost. I was a Dieheart after all, and he was in desperate need of help.

You can see my other Harry Potter #2 review here

until next time reader fans,

Goodread’s description:

Harry Potter is a wizard. He is in his second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Little does he know that this year will be just as eventful as the last…

 

One thought on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Chambers of Secrets by J.K Rowling

Leave a Reply

