Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

“The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.”
Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen

Hey Book Nation!

My beautiful little sister brought me Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard for Christmas! I am so incredibly happy that she did, this book was on my tbr pile but it didn’t look like I was getting to it anytime soon. But seeing I then had a copy, I proceeded to read it for the next two days until it was finished

Let’s get to the review:

2.jpg

Pages: 383

My Rating: 4.5/5

Release date: 10th of February 2015

Series: First book in the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard

Issue: Paperback, present

My thoughts:

This book was incredible.

I have read many reviews talking about how this book is a mixture of a couple Ya novels. Most compare it to the hunger games or even the selection. But I don’t see that at all. I think this story is original.

If anything this book reminded me most of ancient rome and the gladiator fights. But that was only occasionally and not even close to the actual plot of this book.

I can see how some would find this book similar to others. The main character ends up in a castle like America in the selection. The comparison ends there. How she got there and what happens when she does is completely different. The gladiator-like fights can be compared to the hunger games. But yet again, the comparisons stop there. People fight, end of story. This isn’t the hunger games world and children are not pinned against each other.

Victoria’s writing was spectacular and is the type of writing that has you going ‘just one more chapter’ *followed by an entire night of reading* at the end of every chapter I was saying to myself, ‘one more and then I will go to bed.’ but it was so interesting and I couldn’t put it down. I was hooked from the get go.

although it did have long chapters which slightly annoyed me because I love short chapters with a passion.

If you haven’t pick this book up, I assure you within the first three chapters you will be hooked. For me it was just the first page. I loved this book. (I need to find some more adjectives, I use love way too much)

The reason why I didn’t give this book a whole five stars was because as much as I couldn’t put the book down, it didn’t leave much of a lasting impression. I love this book, but I didn’t think for the next three weeks it will be all I think about. I am going to read the next one and nothing will stop me from doing so.

(future Ryley note: I’ve read Glass Sword and loved it! the review will be up in two weeks, I think)

Even though this book isn’t 5 stars it was very close and I highly recommend it.

In this world the silver blood have powers and I would really love to read more about what each power does. There are plenty of them and when this series draws closer to an end I would love it if Victoria Aveyard were to write a compendium or a fact file. Something.

There isn’t much more I can say about this book without spoiling it. I think you should go into this book with no expectations, just see where it takes you. It was nothing like I thought it would be like and had me guessing everything. The writing was awesome and I loved the characters. Hopefully in the next book I get to learn more about the world as I am sure there are plenty more places needing to be explored and more powers to be discovered. I cannot wait to read the next one.

my goodread’s review

Until next time,

 

One thought on “Book Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

