Book Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

“I guess sometimes the perfection we perceive in others is made up of a whole bunch of tiny imperfections, because some days the damn dress just won’t zip.”
Julie Murphy, Dumplin’

Hey Book Nation,

How are you today? To begin this review I would just like to say I read this book in December and wrote the review then, but am only putting up the review now.

1.jpg

Pages: 375

My Rating: 4/5

Release date:15th September 2015

Series: There is a possibility of a second book coming out in 2018 says Goodreads.

Issue: paperback, borrowed

My thoughts:

My Thought are that this book has a really important message that everyone needs to know about. It is all about not judging someone because of how they look, short, tall, thin, thick. It doesn’t matter as long as you’re happy! Date someone because they are all you can think about and they drive you crazy in a good way. Not because they are a certain height, have a certain hair and skin colour or because they are a certain size.

It is also about accepting yourself. Some people no matter how many times they are told to stop, will always judge people on how they look. And I know that is a terrible thing. Which is why this book is mainly on accepting your body and embracing it! You are You, so stop trying to be someone else.

As for the writing I found it very good. Dolly Parton was probably mentioned just that little bit too much for my liking. She was probably mentioned once every two chapters. Which wasn’t always a bad thing, this book was all about accepting who you are and not giving a damn about anybody’s opinion, and Dolly was all for that. But it was a little over the top sometimes.

I am all for short chapters. And this book had them. I find short chapters easier to read and helps me from losing attention. While reading this book I was constantly saying “just one more chapter” and then reading another 7.

If you are all for relationships then this book is for you. There are boyfriend/ girlfriend relationships but also relationships between people you hate, friends and parents. I didn’t find the romance in this book to be just another thing added into the book. It feed into the plot and carried on the message of the book.

The characters came in all shapes and sizes as well as different types of families. Which I found really good!

I recommend this book to anyone who has a) ever judged someone because of how they look b) ever felt bad about their body c)  ever not posted a selfie because they thought someone would judge how they look and d) wants an awesome read.

As a whole this book was awesome. It didn’t necessarily keep me on the edge of my seat eager to know what happened next but rather was just a nice story with a brilliant message.

So that’s all for today!

Goodread’s review

Until next time,

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

      1. Yes, I loved it! I reviewed it yesterday!
        I was hesitant bc it wasn’t getting stellar reviews (Dumplin), so I wasn’t sure…but after THIS review, I’m all about it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

