Book Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

“Besides, she was the Wraith – the only law that applied to her was gravity, and some days she defied that, too.”
Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

Hey Book Nation!

Have you read Six of Crow yet? because I highly suggest you do! (Also, side note: That quote up there ^ you know the one that started this whole post, I have it on both my mirror and one of my school books. I love this quote. Number one favourite quote this year)

1.jpg

Pages: 495

My Rating: 4.75/5

Release date: 29th September 2015

Series: first book in a duology

Issue: paperback, brought

My thoughts:

*collects thoughts*

1.jpgFirst I will start off by explaining why I didn’t give this book a solid 5/5. The first reason would be because I’m super difficult and thought it was soooo close to 5 and didn’t deserve a 4.5…. so i went for the middle.

But seriously, the main reason is because there were two events that I went “wait, that the hell just happened’ and “I swear to god we were just got off the ship, how are we back on one.”

Let me explain further. The first statement came from while the Heist was taking place and I just couldn’t imagine what they were doing. I think they were drilling a hole in something, but I had no clue if it was the wall or the floor and somehow they ended up with a horse? I don’t know. The second statement was purely because it was a flashback and I didn’t catch on to the fact that it was a flashback.

If I reread this book, I am almost certain, I would give this book a solid 5.


 Onto things I loved!

1.jpgThis book is told in 6 parts. I really loved this because it made the almost 500 page book seem so much smaller to read. In the way I felt I was achieving more. While I read the book I would go, “Only 90 pages until the next part, well let’s keep going.”

Along with that, the chapters were also pretty small. Not too small, but perfect size (for me anyways) Most of them were around 9-15 pages long. However near the end they got smaller, because there were so many things going on and they switched perspectives.

This book is told in third person, switching between each of the crows. To complete the Heist, Kaz, teamed up with 5 other thieves, grisha, criminals etc. They are Kaz, Inej, Matthias, Nina, Jesper and Wylan. The writing switches between 5 of them, and I’m not entirely sure why the sixth one wasn’t included.IMG_1408.JPG

Out of all the characters Inej was my favourite. Originally it was Kaz, but Inej is pure gold, so she overtook him. I will admit that when Nina was introduced I was really annoyed. Not because of her character traits, but because she was taking away from Inej. However, I did eventually got over that thought, all of the crows are amazing and hilarious at times. (Inej is still the best though!)

My favourite thing about Kaz was the fact he could have a gun pressed right against his chest and still tell the shooter “You won’t do it” almost daring him to shoot.

Each of these characters had a completely different traits and I absolutely loved them. Because they were all so different and had been through so much before these events, there were flashbacks throughout this book. The flashbacks were one of my favourite parts of the book, I would 110% read a prequel just about their lives before they all met up. Leigh Bardugo get on that!

As I mentioned earlier, there was one occasion where I didn’t pick up on the fact it was a flashback which super confused me. But apart from that one time, it was easy to tell when a flashback was coming. Look out for words like “She remembered…” “last year….” “when they first met…” those usually indicate a flashback coming.

IMG_1419.JPGAs a whole, this book was FANTASTIC and so original! Leigh Bardugo has written another series set in this world ‘The Grisha Trilogy’. It’s debatable whether you should read the trilogy first or if you can skip right to the six of crows duology. But I read six of crows perfectly fine without reading the Grisha trilogy.

However,I do feel like there would be more details and better explanations in the Trilogy on how Grisha powers work and more on world building.

It was super easy to get into this book. The first chapter had me a tincy bit confused but from the second chapter on, I understood and was fully attached to the story.

The last thing I wanted to mention, was that this book does have killing in it. So if you’re not the biggest fan of people getting stabbed or if it grossed you out. Then maybe give this one a miss. There isn’t death on every page or anything, but the occasional fight. Also with romance, it definitely didn’t overtake the plot at all. If anything, I wanted more. INEJ AND KAZ WILL BE TOGETHER.

That’s all for this time, What did you think of Six of Crows

my goodread’s review is here

Until next time,

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

