Book Review: Splintered by A.G. Howard

“No one knows what he or she is capable of until things are at their darkest.”
A.G. Howard, Splintered

Hey book nation!

how are we all going in the Kingdom of Books? Anything new I should check out?

I definitely think you should read this one. It isn’t a five star rating but is really close, i’ll explain in a second.

1.jpg

Pages: 371

My Rating: 4/5

Release date:1st January 2013

Series: First book Splintered trilogy by A.G. Howard

Issue: paperback, borrowed

my thought:

I think this book was awesome. I found it easy to get into and apart from one time it always held my attention.

I did skip one chapter near the end but mostly because I am such a terrible reader when it comes to long chapters. I like short chapters, they hold my attention for long. And the long chapters where okay up until three quarters into the book, so I just skipped half a chapter and went on with my reading as usual.

I didn’t miss anything important, it was just describing some stuff.

Apart from that half a chapter this book was awesome! I haven’t ever read the Lewis Carroll ‘Alice in Wonderland’ story but i think this one was fantastic.

This book follows a girl named Alyssa, she is the great- great- great- granddaughter of Alice Liddell, the girl who inspired the original story. The ability to hear animals has been passed down to every female born into the family since Alice. Alyssa can only here bugs which is cool because it means she doesn’t hear fish etc.

One thing about this book to know before you go into it. It is a little creepy. This isn’t the wonderland we all remember this one has flowers who will use their roots to try and kill you and other creatures who really don’t want you there either.

There was a moment in this book I cried. Not a lot, but a little. I doubt it would cause most people to cry but i was just really attached to someone. Nothing bad happened, like they didn’t die. But i was upset all the same. (no spoilers though)

200

Alyssa’s mother has been put into an asylum because she is a little crazy. One thing leads to another and Alyssa is going down the rabbit hole

Soon after her best friend Jeb falls in. And here is where i get to the romance in this book:

 

Yes there is romance but it drives the story along and is necessary in this story. I could sense a love triangle coming on but i am still not sure if it is there. I’m pretty sure it is though.

The writing in this book was very descriptive and I must admit that once or twice I skipped the paragraph long description of someone’s dress. Really all i needed to know was that it was blue, red laced and up to the knee. The descriptions were good however, when explaining what was going on and what everything around them looked like.

I wasn’t ever on the edge of my seat but i didn’t want to know where things were going. Originally i just thought this was going to be like the disney alice in wonderland movies that i have watched and love but I soon realised it would be extremely hard to expand that over three books so there would have to be something more. And there was.

I’m a little scared about what might happen in the next one to be honest. Like nervous. I don’t want certain people to turn up and ruin my perfect ending but I know they will.

Have you read this book before? What did you think?

I’m beginning to realise just how many alice in wonderland retellings there are, do you know any I should check out?

Until next time reader fans,

here is my goodread’s review

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Splintered by A.G. Howard

  1. If you enjoyed that you will so love Heartless by Marrissa Meyer. I ADOOOOOOOOOOOOOORED it, but it was a bit..well, sad (I haven’t read Splintered though) Also I have a YouTube channel that has a weekly book recommendation video series so if you don’t know what to read or something that might help you 🙂 Let me know if you want the link. I do some other types of videos but I am on Ep. 4 of WBR, and try to keep doing them weekly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

