Book Review: Unhinged by A.G. Howard

“Hello, luv,” he says through a thick curtain of blue hair. “Hope I’m…interrupting.”
A.G. Howard, Unhinged

Hey Book Nation!

How are we all today? Last month I read Unhinged by A.G. Howard and I am so pumped to write this review.

if you haven’t read the first book in this series ‘Splintered’ this may contain spoilers.

1.jpg

Pages: 387

My Rating: 3.75/5 (i’m stuck between 4 and 3.5 so I just went in the middle)

Release date: 7th January 2014

Series: Second book in the Splintered series by A.G. Howard

Issue:Hardback, borrow

1My thought:

My first thought is: this book has purple writing and I love it. It looks so cool! 

Now onto the rest of the review.

I don’t know how to compare this book to the first when it was so different. The first book was an adventure novel through wonderland in hope of breaking the curse. This book on the other hand, took place in the human realm and was more of a …. hmmm how do i put this…. it was like an adventure but without having to leave the comfort of Alyssa’s home.

It’s hard for me to explain what this book is about. The first quarter is about Alyssa’s new life with her mum returning home. Then there is an incident which sort of leads to her being in hospital overnight. A few things happen and then the rest of the book is about them trying to find Red and trying to figure out the code keep secret in Alyssa’s artwork.
Plus on the side there is the relationship with Alyssa and Jed. (Which in this book I was sort of hoping for Alyssa to go with Morphus. he reminds me so much of Rhysand or Kaz. Seriously, he could be injured and then he makes some joke about how she could comfort him. I ship it!)

2.jpgWhen I look back on the book now, i think not much happened. Every book in this series feels like it goes on forever, I read for ten minutes but it feels like half an hour. And it didn’t have much going on, but it filled 387 pages and i’m still wondering if i missed something in it because it was so empty.

The writing was just as good as last time however, I did not skip any this time. Minus a long paragraph on what someone was wearing but I think that can be forgiven.

The love triangle still exist however, Alyssa has sort of decided on who her pick will be. I didn’t find it annoy either, it didn’t feel like it overtook the actual plot of this story.

Alyssa’s dad has some secrets in this book that he doesn’t even know about which I thought was cool. But her mum, her mother my goodness. She annoyed me so much, I just wanted to reach into the book and scream at her ‘this is your daughter, tell her about what you went through and stop keeping secrets!’

Picture1.jpgThe ending was a bit of a cliffhanger so I suggest making sure you know where you can get the third one from before you begin.

The first book was a lot more intense than this one, however, it was a nice read.  Where the first one was intense and full of plot twist. This one’s plot twist were smaller and less intense, smooth sailing mostly

Have you read this book? what did you think?

Like always here is my goodread’s review for this book.

all those photos were taken by yours truly *dips imaginary hat* you can see more of my photos over on my instagram

until next time reader fans,

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Unhinged by A.G. Howard

Leave a Reply

