Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

“No, I’m not choosing him or you. I’m choosing me.”
Kiera Cass, The Selection

Hey Book Nation!

For a while I had been wanting to reread the selection series. I loved it the first time and it is such an easy read. So I figured why not?

1.jpg

Pages: 326

My Rating: 5/5

Release date: 24th April 2012

Series: First book in the Selection series by Kiera Cass

Issue: paperback, brought

my thought:

Even though this is my second time reading this book, I still enjoyed it just as much the second time round.

The first time I read this book I was quick to change my opinion on America Singer, the main character. At the beginning I found her a little annoying but soon warmed up to her. That didn’t happen the second time round. I loved her the entire time.

I know a lot of people find America annoying because she cannot make up her mind. And I get that, i do. but i also understand that if i was in her position I would be much worse.

The writing in this book is extremely easy to get into. Once i picked this book up I didn’t put it down, both times i read it. It feels like such a quick read and is really nice. I love how nice and simple it is while still be awesome and surprising.

There is romance in this book, if you couldn’t tell by the description. America is in a competition to win the Prince’s heart. But it doesn’t stop there. Before she left she was in love with someone else, Aspen. Now in the competition she needs to decide whether she wants to move on from him or hope to be with him afterwards.

In this book the love triangle isn’t huge. it’s there but not massive. However I know from the first time I read it that in the next two books this issue becomes more predominant.

along with the romance between the prince and the girls. America is having trouble adjusting to this new life in the castle, along with her competition. She is seen as a threat and has a lot of trouble understanding why.

The second time i read this I found myself picking up on more small details that come up in later books that I didn’t notice the first time. I also found myself laughing a lot more. I had forgotten how funny this book was. It is a comedy by any means, but there are some witty conversations which is perfect for my type of humour.

I highly suggest you check out this book if you haven’t already. But if you have, let me know what you think.

I have two reviews on this book, one for both times i read it. Here they are:

first time, second time.

Until next time,

One thought on “Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

