book review: This Is Where The World Ends by Amy Zhang

“How many times can a person explode?”
Amy Zhang, This Is Where the World Ends

Hello Book Nation!

How are you all? I feel like it has been a while since I have read a contemporary novel and it’s sort of affected my review. This book is officially my favourite contemporary read to date.

1.jpg
Pages: 287

My Rating: 5/5

Release date: 22nd of March 2016 (OMG IT WAS RELEASED ON MY B’DAY)

Series: Stand alone by Amy Zhang

Issue: Paperback, brought

My thoughts:

When I brought this book I originally thought it was ‘This is where it ends’ only to realise when I got home, that in fact, it was a completely different book. However, I am still extremely happy that I got to read this book. I loved it. Every single second of it.

The book is rather small in size but I felt it was perfect. I can’t think of anything I would want to take out or put in. I just think this book was exactly what it needed to be.

This book is told from two points of view. The first being Micah and the second, one of his best friends, Janie. These points of views are then told in ‘befores’ and ‘afters’ to eventually get to the mystery of the book. Micah’s chapters are the afters and Janie, the befores.

Janie’s chapters were my favourite, however, I still did love Micah’s. Along with the main story, are little journal entries from Janie which is her life told through fairytales (it all makes sense when you read the book)

I felt this book was a really easy book to get into and a really quick read. There are only 287 pages in my version of this book. But the writing is not extremely small like you find in Harry potter. It is actually rather big, making the book even smaller. But the size is not much to worry about when the book is so fantastic.

I don’t think there was a moment in this book were I thought it should have gone faster or something could have been different. The pacing was great and the writing was spectacular. Amy Zhang’s writing style is very easy to understand and doesn’t require your undivided attention. You still should pay attention, what I mean is that, it doesn’t give you a headache trying to work out what the characters are thinking or what something looks like. It’s all just nice and simple. Sort of like the Selection series.

I was a little bit concerned by how much these characters drunk alcohol, every moment they weren’t at school they were drinking (or so it seemed). But that didn’t really bother me because part of the plot is the fact that a character can’t remember something (the something that is in the middle of the befores and afters)

This book deals with a number of issues such as toxic friends and rape, and I really found that interesting. Especially the characters thoughts on those topics. There was one of Janie’s journal entries I found to stick out the most, and it was one on little red ridding hood. I really want to tell you what it was about, but I won’t because Spoilers clearly.

I don’t feel like the blurb of this book does it justice, but there is no really way of describing what it is about without spoiling the book. But I think that is okay, I went into this book not knowing anything and I think that really helped.

if you have read this book let me know and we can discuss. Even dm me on instagram (@queenofthebooks) and we can chat about it.

Like always my goodread’s review is here. feel free to add me as well!

until next time,

 

Leave a Reply

