Book Review: Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

” A NEW DAWN, A NEW DESERT “

Hey Book Nation,

The last book I read in January was Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton. I really really enjoyed this book and am here to share with you my feelings and opinions:

2.jpg

Pages: 387

My Rating: 4.5/5

Release date: 29th September 2015

Series: first book in a trilogy by Alwyn Hamilton

Issue: paperback, brought

My thoughts:

I was really caught up between rating this book a 4 or a 5… so I went with the middle. The One reason I was leaning towards a five was that I would 100% reread this book! It was wonderful. Really well written with no lagging bits that could be left out.

I thought the world building was great and I knew everything on a need to know basis, not just a bucket load of information all at once to give me a head ache. There is a lot of info on the religion, Gods and beliefs which I thought would be hard to keep up with. but it was all really explained well and easy to catch on.

But the reason I was leaning towards a 4 was because I was stuck between the two. I know when a book will be a five because there is no doubt in my system. I just go ‘IT’S A FIVE FROM ME’ but I didn’t go like that. I don’t really know why. But seriously, there is nothing wrong with a 4.5!

So to expand a little bit.

The writting style was super easy to get into and there was no point in the book were I thought is was boring or something could be cut out. The pacing was great which was amazing and helped keep me focus. I think the chapters are a reasonable length, not short enough to be considered short, but the pacing made them feel short so all the same!

The ending of this books makes it seem like it could be a stand alone. I won’t go into details cause spoilers, but even though not all the questions are answered, it was summed up pretty well. It sort of reminds me of the ending of six of crows (not the actual details but the feeling), it doesn’t have me eager to go and get the next one, because currently it is wrapped up quite nicely. BUT I will still be going to get Traitor of The Throne because I still would like to know what happens. I don’t need it right this second, but I would still like to know eventually (do you understand?).

As a whole, I thought this book was spectactular and a really nice and easy book to read, with a couple of plot twist (but nothing to really make you gasp and throw your book). If you ever find yourself looking for what to read next, give this one a go!

Have you read this book? What did you think?

As always, my goodread’s review

Until next time,

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Rebel Of The Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

Leave a Reply

