Book Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

“To really be a nerd, she’d decided, you had to prefer fictional worlds to the real one.”
Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl

Hey Fangirls/ fanboys,

How are you all today? what book are you fangirling about currently?

One of my goals for January was to read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, and I did! it was a wonderful read and I highly suggest it. Here’s why:

1.PNG

Pages: 459

My Rating: 4/5

Release date: 10th of September 2013

Series: Stand alone (however Carry One by Rainbow Rowell is also mentioned in this book, sort of a spin off)

Issue: paperback (special fan art edition), borrowed

My thoughts:

I always have trouble reviewing contemporaries. Mainly because there aren’t any dragons or magic. When I read a fantasy book I get so immersed in the world that I want to live there forever. I find it easier to fangirl about books that are set in other worlds or have special magical powers. Contemporaries on the other hand, are already in this world. The one I normally am trying to escape.

With that said though, I did really enjoy this book. I couldn’t rate it a five because I didn’t get lost in the world. I was really interested in it, don’t get me wrong. It just didn’t have me wanting to go on pinterest and find a million post relating to it.

I did give this book a 4/5 however. And I believe people who love contemporaries or are looking at getting into that genre, this book is awesome. It’s also a great book to read in between fantasy books, to clear your mind of the previous world and get ready for a new one.

But, if I stop trying to compare this book to fantasy novels, it is spectacular. I love love love the characters and especially that the two twins had different personalities and pissed each other off a couple of times.

The writing is incredibly easy to get into! From the very first page I was interested to see what happened and everything that did, was a complete surprise. There weren’t major plot twist but there were many bumps in the road. This story is also told in third person but follows Cath through her journey at college.

There were parts of this book I skipped. Woah! slow down. I know, I know, I just said the book was amazing, let me explain myself.

The main character, Cath, is in love with writing fanfiction based on a book series she loves. When she heads off to college she is in the middle of writing a fanfiction called Carry On (which is another book written by Rainbow Rowell, and as far as I’m aware is with the same characters and plot as describe in fangirl). So throughout this novel, there are experts of Cath’s fanfictions, not just Carry On, as well as the books they are based on Simon Snow.

I skipped these experts because I wasn’t interested in the story that was Simon Snow. I started to read a few of them, but they never really interest me. I’m sure Carry One would be more interest though. Because it would be the whole story not bits and pieces of many different stories.

If you read fangirl, and find yourself not liking the experts, you can skip them. You won’t miss much at all through not reading them.

The rest of the book was fantastic, though. There weren’t too many characters that I forgot there names, the story was nice and easy to get into, the writing style was amazing and the whole thing just really interested me.

That’s pretty much all I have to say about Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Have you read this book? what do you think of it?

As always, my goodread’s review.

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

