Book review: The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

“There is no wisdom in love”

Oh my Goodness, Oh my goodness

(did you get the Annie reference?)

This book, oh my goodness this book.

1 (1).jpg

Pages: 399

My Rating: 5/5

Release date: 16th of May 2016

Series: First book in The Crown’s game duology by Evelyn Skye

Isuue: paperback, brought

My thoughts:

To begin, let me say: That quote at the beginning of this ‘There is no wisdow in love’ was on page 281. Why do I know this? Because I was so close to getting out my pen and underlining it. Looking at the quote normally you might think ‘yeah, just another quote about love’ but no! at this point of time in the book, this quote crushed my soul. Not in a ‘Holy cow she just died’ sort of way (no one was dying at this point in the book) but more of a ‘Holy cow that is the perfect line at this point in time’

Moving on…

I say this a lot, but, the writing of this book was incredible and probably the best I have seen from a debut novel ever. The description of everything was so amazing I actually felt like I was in that world, walking the streets, buying from the bakery (the bakery is called Cinderella’s Pumpkin, which I loved) I can’t even begin to describe how incredible the descriptions where. I didn’t think they were overkill like I did with the splintered trilogy but rather, really enjoyed them.

But apart from the description of clothing, food and the world, I loved how everything was written. It was so easy to get into, I read it in three days, which is saying a lot seeing I had school and it normally takes me an entire week to read a book this size with school. I didn’t want to put it down! I wanted to leap into the book and be apart of it.

As of right now, if I had to pick three books to just leap into and live in, it would go; A court of mist and fury, the crown’s game and then Red Queen (not throne of glass because I’m fairly certain I would die in that world)

Nothing I thought would happen in this book did. I won’t tell you what I thought would happen because then you could spoil yourself by connecting the dots. But absolutely everything I thought would happen didn’t. They weren’t major gasping for air plot twist but subtle things, where I went ‘hold on a second, I see what you did there.’ It always had me on my toes.

I had expected the two enchanters to be staying in the castle during the competition, a bit like those from the throne of glass competition. But no, there was something different, which you will have to wait and see. hehe, so evil.

There is a little bit of a love triangle going on, but, it isn’t the girl who is concerned about it (i don’t think she could care less) but one of the two boys (not both, just one who doesn’t realize things hehe)

As for the characters, I loved them all! and cannot wait for the next book to hear more from them and see them develop further. Nikolai is my favourite by far! and I 110% ship him with Vika.

Also can we talk about the cover for a second, CAN IT BE MORE BEAUTIFUL and the texture of the cover is so soft and smooth and it just makes me want to cuddle up in a ball and read it all day!

Have you read this book? what did you think of it?

As always, my goodread’s review (it’s different to this one)

Until next time,

One thought on “Book review: The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

Leave a Reply

