Book Review: Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass

“I will never forget your fire. I can’t wait to see what you do.”
Kiera Cass, Happily Ever After

Hello Princes and Princesses,

I’ve always been a big fan of The Selection Series by Kiera Cass. That is exactly why I was beyond excited when a very good friend of mine let me borrow her copy of Happily Every After which is a companion novel to The Selection Series. I don’t know whether or not I would have ever brought this book if she never got it herself. Only because with The Heir and The Crown I paid so much to get such small books, which really good have just been one (they were still amazing, but the sze of them were disappointing.).

But with that said, I am really glad I did get a chance to read this companinion novel. It was incredible, let me tell you why:

1.PNG

Pages: 387

My Rating: 4/5

Release date: 13th of October 2015

Series: Companion novel to the Selection Series by Kiera Cass

Issue: Paperback, borrow

My thought:

The reason I didn’t think I was ever going to buy this book for myself was because I wasn’t actually that interested in reading the selection from other’s points of view. Maxon’s I have always been interest in, but not really Aspen’s or Celeste’s. I was happy with America’s point of view (although, completely okay with an entire book on Maxon) So once I had finished The Crown (the incredible expensive, small book) I decided I wasn’t going to go out and buy this one.

But recently my friend brought herself The Selection Series (and love them), and so decided to buy this companion as well. She read it within a day and told me I must read it, which I wouldn’t have passed up the offer anyways but I was excited to see what she had just raved about.

I probably eventually would have read this, but wayyyyyyy in the future and on kindle, most likely.

(with that said, if Kiera ever wanted to write the entire selection from Maxon’s point of view I would buy it in a heart beat)

But I am really glad I read it now, I won’t be buying it, but I’m glad I got to read it.

I gave this book a 4/5 and really enjoy it. Not as much as The Selection, the Elite and The One, but that was to be expected considering this is a bunch of short stories and not a novel like those three. But I’m thinking it is at the same level as The Heir and The Crown.

Like all books written by Kiera Cass, this book was extremely easy to get into, I had it finished within 24 hours. Kiera’s writting is so simple read and doesn’t require hard work at all to understand. This book is really quick to breeze through, just like the other books written by Kiera. There were no moments where I went ‘urg this is taking forever, this is boring’ it was all interesting and I loved it all.

This book consites of stories from Queen Amberly, Maxon, Aspen, Lucy, Celeste and Marlee, as well as moments after The One and a couple of pages of Where Are They Now?

My favourites would have to be The Queen’s, Maxon’s and Celeste’s stories. They were absouletly fabulous!!!!

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Lucy or Aspen’s parts, mainly because I wasn’t really a big fan of their characters when I read the Selection series. (Plus I still think Aspen cheated on America, but that’s a story for another day). They were just sort of there, I guess. But it was really interesting to see it through their eyes, even if they weren’t necessarily the scenes I would have choosen.

If you were looking into reading this book I would say go for it. Before reading this book, I didn’t think I needed to, but I am really happy I did. But if the price is a little on the expensive side, go for the kindle version. If I owned this book, I’m not sure I would reread it, like I would with The Selection- The Crown. But I am still really happy that I got to read this book, so if you could find a way to borrow it, or found it really cheap, GO FOR IT!

However, the artwork inside this book is incredible and the cover is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

