Book Review: Pretty Fierce by Kieran Scott

My mother had once told me you couldn’t trust people who came into your life at the exact moment you needed them

Hey Book Nation!

I bring to you a review of ‘Pretty Fierce’ by Kieran Scott. This book comes out next month and I highly suggest you look out for it.

1.jpg

Pages: 320

My Rating: 4.5/5

Release date: 4th April 2017

Series:ย Stand alone

Issue:ย ebook, review copy from Netgallery in exchange for an honest review

my thought:

I must admit I did judge this book by it’s cover. I wasn’t going to put in for the review copy for it because I misjudged it and thought it wouldn’t be very interesting. But I was so incredibly wrong.

I can’t remember what ended up making me put in my request for this book but I am glad I did.

Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. Five hours in my bed reading this book and I do not regret one minute of it. From the very first page I was hooked. Maybe even the first sentence.

This book is told in two different point of views, one is told from Kaia who is a daughter of two assassins. And the other is from her boyfriend, Oliver, who is a foster kid.

When i first realised that Oliver had gotten his own p.o.v in this book I was a little annoyed. I really wanted this book to just be from Kaia perspective and for her to just be a kick-ass girl who saves herself. But after reading a page from him I soon warmed up to him and started to enjoy his perspective as well.

The two of them are dating, however, the romance doesn’t take up the entire novel. Yes there are kisses her and there but they aren’t described in depth and the story continues on quickly.

The writing in this book was so easy to get into. Which was well needed after reading the Star-Touched Queen.ย The descriptions were nice and simple. He has blonde hair, she is short, there was blood on his shoes. None of this ‘her eyes were like stars, but not in the middle of the night. No. more like at twilight when the darkness hadn’t yet gotten a chance to unleash itself fully.’ (yeah i just made that up then and have no clue why)

Normally I take a few more hours to read a book this size but because i wasn’t ever confused and the writing was so simple I had it done much quicker, or at least it felt quicker. It sort of reminds me of the selection series because of how nice and easy it was to read.

There were a few annoyances in this book and that was why it didn’t get the whole five stars. Okay minor spoiler here, someone dies ‘what no? a book about assassin’s and no one dies, woah.’ but that wasn’t the issue. it was that the person who killed them didn’t even care that much. Like seriously. This is the first time you have killed someone and you’re okay with that?

The same character who did that also annoyed me by not listening. Someone asked this character to just leave and go home and they are just like ‘no, i’m not leaving.’ and i’m over here like ‘you have no clue what is going on leave before someone shoots you.’

So those were my only issues, apart from that I LOVED THIS BOOK! I thought it was pretty fierce.

like always here is my goodread’s review

Comment down below if you think you will check this book out? I plan on getting a physical copy of this book, i loved it!

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Pretty Fierce by Kieran Scott

Leave a Reply

