Book review: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

“Sometimes justice was all about the small victories.”

Hello my fellow witchlings,

1.PNGI have now completed my fourth challenge for the #tackleyourlibrarychallenge2017 (it could actually be the third, I can’t exactly remember, I’ll check later*) Either way, I have finished Truthwitch by Susan Dennard and am now ready to share my thoughts with you all.

*I checked and I was right!!! although technically it is my third completed one because I dnfed on of them…


I went into this book not knowing much at all. As far as I knew, this book contained a witch who could tell the difference between truths and lies, not much more than that at all. However, I did go into this book expecting to love love love it, but it didn’t exactly go that way.

I gave this book a 4/5 stars. It was very interesting, I must admit. But, I think I just expected to love it a whole lot more than I did. It was probably the hype around it (????). Don’t get me wrong though, four stars is still extremely good!!!! It’s just that I expected more considering the way everyone talked about this book.

This book is told in Third person, switching between many points. I did find this a nice thing and it always kept me interested in what was going on. But there were also so many perspectives going around it was hard to connect with the characters.

Speaking of characters…. I love Safiya (even if no matter how often my sister told me how to pronounce her name and I forgot… it is pretty easy, I just prefer my way of saying it) Safiya is a Truthwitch, by the way, and her threadsister is Iseult. The both are an amazing pair and now one of my favourite bookish friendships.

Merik on the other hand. woah! I need Safiya and Merik together in the next book. Must say, I ship it! Although, I will admit, I wasn’t exactly feeling all the emotions between the two of them, it felt semi forced.


Also! The world building in this book is a different one to say the least. I can’t exactly say it made a whole lot of sense. Like I sort of expected a few more humans (????) everyone seemed to have a power and I’m starting to think I missed the part of the book which said ‘Hey, humans are extinct.’ but I do think there are some humans around, they just happened not to be near these girls.

A little heads up, there are a lot of types of witches in this book. And within each type of witchery field, there are areas in which they can specialize. Sounds a bit confusing, but you catch on once you start reading.

All in all, I found this book a very fascinating one and also fairly quick. There is a lot of things going on and although I did see a couple of things coming, most of it kept me guessing. The writing was amazing and pretty easy to get into.


Have you read this book? What did you think?

You can see my goodread’s review here

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

