Descendants by Rae Else || Book Review

Ya can’t stop the waves, but ya can learn to surf

Hey Book Nation!

In advanced I would like to say, once again I am writing a review at midnight (I think maybe I should stop adding this little comment at the beginning of every review because I do it every time, haha).

Also I would like to point out, that not all Australian speak like the person who said the quote above. The only Australian I’ve heard speak like that is Crush from Finding Nemo!

But either way, onto the review.

Descendants by Rae Else is a new Ya fantasy book, which I believe will be part of a trilogy and was released April 12th. I was lucky enough to received a free ebook of Descendants through netgallery in exchange for my honest opinion.


What is the book about:

There are lots of stories about the children of gods. But what about those cursed by the gods, and their descendants…

El, a seventeen-year-old has inherited an ancient and deadly power. She loses control of it, causing a horrific accident, and becomes the prey of a secret organisation, known as the Order.

Forced from her family and home, she hides in plain sight amidst the crowds of London, and is thrust into a world she never knew existed; one full of arete: beings with extraordinary powers like hers.

Arete are beings that can trace their lineage and powers from ancient Greece. They do not claim their inheritance comes from the gods, rather legend says they are descended from cursed beings, such as Medusa.

At the heart of their world is the kerykeion, the symbol that protects them from the humans and the humans from them. El is trapped between two factions, one that has built an empire around the kerykeion and another that is determined to bring it down.

As she is drawn deeper into the conflict, the only way to find the truth is to take matters into her own hands, and the line between friend and foe becomes dangerously blurred.


Review time:

I was really enjoying this book, for the first 100 pages. This book is rather short, and only 210 pages in total. But I really do think it could have been longer… there was a lot of detail on unnecessary things like what the room looked like and describing every single item inside a room. While at the same time, no detail in other things. It’s really confusing to explain, but I think that a lot of detail and time was spent focusing on unnecessary things.

Throughout the entirety of the novel, the main character El, would have a thought about the situation, then she would say the exact same thing out loud. And this really slowed down the pace of the book. I felt like the book would have moments of extremely fast pacing and then other parts where it felt like I had been stuck on the same part for a year.

In the end I gave this book a 3 out of 5 stars. It was alright but I do think it could have been fleshed out and turned into something really interesting.

I would describe this book as sort of a Female version of Percy Jackson, and mainly because has to do with Greek Gods and getting powers passed down from them (I’ve only read the first to PJ books so don’t hold me to think).


The Characters:

The characters where alright, I didn’t exactly know who was who, but I got the hang of it eventually (mainly by guessing). Because the book was short, I found it hard to connect with each characters.

I also found that some of the relationships between characters where unbelievable. For instance, El hasn’t seen her mother in years, as far as she is aware, her mother left her with her grandmother. In the start she doesn’t like her mum, but then a chapter later she is agreeing with everything her mum is saying.


The Plot:

I do think the plot was rather rushed, and think this book would have been amazing if there were more details in the ending 50%.

I did find the story line interesting and was rather enjoying it for the first half. But once I hit 50% I did start to get annoyed with how nothing seemed to be happening, There were some chapters that had almost no dialogue which drove me insane.


That’s all for this time.

My goodread’s review can be seen here.

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

