Air and Ash by Alex Lidell || Book Review

‘… a girl who draws her strength from the sea’

Hey Book Nation,

I was lucky enough to be offered to read First Command by Alex Lidell a little while ago (which by the way was amazing and full of emotions) and from that, was then offered an early ebook copy of the actual first book in the series (first command is a prequel novella) in exchange for a review.

And by goodness this book is pure gold. I don’t even know where to begin!


Okay, first a little description (taken from goodreads):

After a lifetime of training, seventeen-year-old Princess Nile Greysik, a lieutenant on the prestigious Ashing navy flagship, sails into battle with one vital mission—and fails.

Barred from the sea and facing a political marriage, Nile masquerades as a common sailor on the first ship she can find. With a cowardly captain, incompetent crew, and a cruel, too-handsome first officer intent on making her life a living hell, Nile must hide her identity while trying to turn the sorry frigate battleworthy. Worse, a terrifying and forbidden magic now tingles in Nile’s blood. If anyone catches wind of who Nile is or what she can do, her life is over.

But when disaster threatens the ship, Nile may have no choice but to unleash the truth that will curse her future.


Now my little details:

so you are aware when I start mentioning things soon in the review

  • First Command is a prequel novella in the TIDES series
  • Air and Ash is the first novel in the TIDES series
  • Air and Ash will be released on May 2nd
  • The following book, I believe will be out later on this year (I think I remember it being 6-8 weeks after, don’t quote me on that)

Review time:

The plot of this book is like nothing I have seen before. That is partly because I’ve only read one book that involved a ship and I stopped reading that halfway through, so I really have a limited knowledge of what books are similar. But I can tell you, that I loved it.

The writing is just as incredible as it was in the prequel novella, maybe even better. At the end of every chapter I found myself saying ‘Just one more chapter’ and then it was the middle of the night and I had to go to bed if I hoped for any sleep.

The characters are very interesting and I really cannot wait for the next book so I can just dive into the world again and be with all these characters. Nile, the main character, is a very interdependent and head-strong girl (which I love), but also while she is busy with her ‘Get things done’ attitude, she is also very caring and considerate of others. In the sense that she will stick up for what is right even if it means she has to break the rules (in particular, all the rules)

I did during the book think once or twice that a certain character reminded me a bit of Rowan from Heir of Fire, but I cannot exactly put my finger on it. I think it has to do with being tough and strict but only because that is what will keep the most people safe (am I making any sense?).


Basically,

This book is about 280 pages long and I loved every moment of it, there was never a point in where I though it could have been moving fast or something could have been left out. It was perfect. 

I gave this book a 5/5 stars and really suggest you add this to your tbr right away,

here I’ll even give you the link to goodreads so you can do it right away (well, my goodread’s review so you can see any extra parts I might not have added in here).


Please, I beg of you, add this to your tbr!

Until next time,

One thought on “Air and Ash by Alex Lidell || Book Review

Leave a Reply

