Poison Study by Maria v Snyder || Book Review

“Poisoned, pursued and living with a psychopath. Not what I would consider the good life. Death has its perks.”

I have decided that I am actually going to seriously think my rating through because I feel like I rate every book 5 stars purely because there was one thing I enjoyed about the book… It’s been highly bothering me.

With that said, my rating for Poison Study is 3.5. This is because I was stuck between 3 and 4 but felt 3 was too low and 4 was to much. (Let us all remember that 3.5 stars out of five is actually pretty good so do not be turned away from this book)

However, I do think this could be a book I would easily reread. In fact, i would read it again in a heartbeat. I know, I’m a little confusing. It’s purely because it was so easy to get into and had me wanting to read more.

There wasn’t really any point in this book that made me gasp and want to race ahead for answers, as in their was no real climax. Instead, there were small little hurdles every three or so chapters that kept me interest. But as a whole the book felt kept me feeling the same, just Cruisey.

At the beginning of the book, I did compare it to Throne of Glass a little bit. But as it went on I found it became completely different and I could no longer draw parallels. (Although, I would suggest it to anyone who likes the first TOG book)

This is the first book in the series, and I believe the first book Maria v Snyder wrote, and I think the series will improve. I have high hopes for it. I don’t own the other books on my kindle, and am putting myself on a book-buying ban (although we all know how we those go). But when the ban is over, this series will be one of the very next lined up.

As for the characters, I thought their was a wide variety of different personalities who always kept me on my feet. Although, some characters were more developed than others, I did find them very interesting. (Janco is my favourite!)


My goodread’s review can be found here,


Have you read this book or series? What did you think of it?

Until next time,

9 thoughts on “Poison Study by Maria v Snyder || Book Review

Leave a Reply

