Why Contemporary confuses me

You may have seen a contemporary book review (or two) I have done before. 

And every time I write one, I kind of want to rip the book apart. Well, not really, but it is still highly frustrating. The thing is, Contemporaries are just so hard to review. How am I meant to compare a book like Fangirl, with a little bit of romance and issues about turning in an essay on time, to a book like Air and Ash with powers and epic sea battles?

I don’t think I can.

And that is a bit of an issue.


When I read a contemporary I FALL IN LOVE, I do, I really do. They are very cute books and for the most of them, I adore them. But even when I stay up all night to finish one, like Coming Up For Air, I can’t compare it to when I stay up all night to read Empire of Storms.

Contemporaries are nice and sweet and easy to get into. But Fantasies are EPIC and full of so many tiny little details that have me gasping and wanting more.

So I have decided, that when I give a contemporary five stars, it does not always mean it equal the five stars I give to a fantasy novel. I. Just. Can’t. Compare. The. Two. It’s too hard to, it’s like comparing cats to oranges. Yes! I went there, not apples to oranges, cats to oranges. They are so different and it drives me insane trying to figure out how to rate them.


Things I love about (Most) contemporaries:

  • Easy to get into
  • Characters eat a lot of food
  • Real life issues
  • Eye opening
  • More realistic but yet impossible to reach boyfriend standards
  • Characters are easier to relate to

Things I dislike about (Most) contemporaries:

  • No dragons
  • No witches
  • No epic battles
  • No curse that they have to undo
  • No hot fae male princes
  • No plot line that has me turning the page at 100km/h
  • Doesn’t bring me the same extreme range of emotions as fantasy
  • No Rhysand
  • No little tiny details that you don’t care about until later when they become MAJOR and have you saying ‘Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh that was clever.”

I just don’t think it’s far to compare the two. Some people might love contemporaries and know exactly what a great one looks like, but I’m not one of those people. I mainly rate books based on how they made me feel. If I was driven into a whirlwind of emotions then it’s normally a five from me.

And it just so happens that Fantasies do that a lot better, in my opinion.


That is pretty much all I have to say. Do you have the same issue? Or is it just me?

Also do you have any good contemporaries to recommend?

5 thoughts on “Why Contemporary confuses me

  1. “Characters eat a lot of food” haha dying because of that sentence XD
    Yeah I do prefer fantasy, for the reasons you listed. I mean, contemporaries can be fun and cute, but I don’t usually buy them.

    Like

  2. contemporaries are a total hit or miss for me. For the most part, I don’t like them, but sometimes if they aren’t total teenage angst, I can read them with little problems [but the eye rolling still remains.] YA contemporary is probably my least favorite, NA is a bit more tolerable for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

