Reading Pet Peeves

We all have pet peeves.  It’s hard not to be annoyed some times. Especially when you are reading a book.

So I have composed a list of some of my reading pet peeves.


1. When someone feels they have the right to judge the fact I read

*Me: holding a book*

People: Why are you such a nerd?

*Me: mentions a book*

People: You’re such a weirdo

*Me: walks past the library to get to class*

People: I can’t believe you read, you’re so strange

Me:

giphy.gif

I have a big issue when it comes to people judging the fact I read books. YES I READ (to quote Matilda). I don’t see why it has to be someone else’s issue. Am I bothering you by reading? Didn’t think so.


2. When someone interrupts my reading

giphy (2).gif

Most of the time, I read on the bus, and luckily for me, my best friend sits beside me. So she is very much aware of the fact I don’t want to talk on the bus. Oh hush! I get it isn’t social but we wake up at 5:30am and we are not morning people, we deserve sometime to just daydream/ read.

But I also read at school sometimes (during study periods, not class). And almost always, there is someone who wants to interrupt.


3. And then when they ask what it is about… while I’m in the middle of an intense chapter

giphy (1).gif

I’m sorry but I’m kind of reading right now. I don’t have time to explain to you what is happening, I’m in the middle of an epic battle and my character is about to die! I’M BUSY!!


4. When someone has the audacity to touch my book

giphy (3).gif

Oh my goodness. I leave my book on the table for twelve seconds and someone has picked it up!

Internal thoughts: That’s fine, all good, they just want to read the back. Breath Ryley, they won’t hurt the book, It’s  –  Oh my god what are you doing! You can’t just open my book up! I don’t know what smutty things the author has put in there. Close it!


5. When someone opens your book and they happen to open it to a romantic scene

giphy (5).gif

This is why I said stay out of it! I cannot be held accountable for what the author has put in the book.


giphy (4).gifBut no matter what your reading pet peeves are, you will always find a way to keep on keeping on.


Until next time,

One thought on “Reading Pet Peeves

Leave a Reply

