Laurinda by Alice Pung || Book Review

“…If you have enough inner resources, you can be by yourself for a long time and not feel smaller because of it.”

Oops, sorry I haven’t posted a review in a while. I’m a little *cough a lot* behind on my May tbr #sorrynotsorry, I read Poison Study, then a book for review (the review won’t be up until closer to the release date), followed by ACOWAR and my emotions are still over the place with that one. But I just finished Laurinda and am in perfect position to tell you all about it.


If I haven’t done so before, I should point one of my latest discoveries IF SOMEONE ELSE DOES OR DOES NOT LIKE A BOOK, DO NOT LET IT AFFECT YOUR VIEWS ON IT.

This book took me a while to start because every single moron at my school felt like pointing out their hatred of this book. You think I would have learnt by now that the kids at my school would rather go blind then read a book, but I haven’t yet. I let their opinions stop me from reading this amazing book earlier. Urg! I’m so frustrated with myself.


I must admit, the prologue was a bit ify, but after that I was hooked! I never really had the motivation to go out and read this book, but whenever I did pick it up I could never stop.

It was Fast pacing while at the same time ensuring to include detail into everything. I don’t think I can express my love for this book enough, but I’ll try.

This book tackles topics such as racism and corrupt power, which are both topics I have never really read about. But I am a big believe in equality and it drives me mad to see people say they aren’t racist but then turn around and make all these low key and high key racist actions. Anyways, I’m off topic. This book was amazing and I loved how it focused on these issues.

If I could change one thing about this book, I would make it longer. I loved it so much and I just needed more!!! But it is all good because I’m fairly sure I will reread it next week.


My goodread’s review is here

Until next time,

One thought on “Laurinda by Alice Pung || Book Review

Leave a Reply

