May Wrap Up

Oh snap,

This month did not go as planned (oops).

That’s all good though because I am still 11 books ahead of my goodread’s challenge so all is well in the world.

So what did I read this month???

Pretty much none of what was on my May tbr, ouch!


The first read of May was Poison Study by Maria v. Snyder, and I really found this book enjoyable. I would 100% read it again as it was so simple. With that said, I only gave this book a 3 and a half (Or maybe it was four) because it did feel as if it was lacking something. There were no real major events throughout the book, nothing that made be go ‘OH my god, oh my god, must read more.’

I am interested in reading the rest of this series, but it might be a while before I get around to it.


Next up was Goodnight, Boy by Nikki Sheehan, which I found to be alright. I gave this book three stars. It was certainly easy to read because of the writing style, but maybe to easy? (Like easy enough for it to physically pain my brain reading it.)


Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch kind of feels like a cheat putting it on here. Because as much as I did read it, I spent the majority of the read trying to annotate the book. So I was focusing more on making witty comments then the content. It was fun though, to do it, I think if you have a book you have read before and want to annotate it, to go for it!


Oh yeah, I remember what happened at this point in the month. I wasn’t an all too happy mood, so I needed to cheer myself up in the only way I knew. To read The Selection by Kiera Cass. It’s my go to happy book. Seriously, the day I decided to read this book started with me looking at my bookshelf and going ‘assassin, war, assassin, ehhh, character I love dies, revenge of the century.’ Honestly, I need some more happy books on my shelves.


Then came Laurinda by Alice Pung, which is probably my favourite school book I have ever had to read. Although the essay I have to write on it is not necessarily my favourite thing right now, haha.


A COURT OF WINGS AND RUIN BY SARAH J MAAS! I read this book twice this month, and I think the first time was actually before Laurinda. I believe it went the selection, acowar, updrift and laurinda, finish laurinda, pause updrift, reread acowar.

It is just so good! I loved it more that a court of mist and fury although it is a very close call. I think I just found the characters to be more of a family. Not just with each other but with me as well. Aweeee isn’t that sweet hahaha. I found myself connecting a lot more with the characters.


As I said, I was reading Updrift, but have not finished it yet. So I guess that will become a goal for next month, we shall see.


Finally was Little Woman, but the version I read was an adaption of it made for younger readers. It took me about two hours to read but I would be really interested in reading the full length novel. Especially so I can connect more with the characters. It was a bit hard to remember which March sister was who.


What was I going on about, I read eight books! Holy! I think I just expected to actually follow my May Tbr and finish the snow like ashes trilogy and harry potter 4. But they can be saved for next month.

What did you read this month???

Until next time

Categories: tbr

5 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

