Nevernight by Jay Kristoff || Book Review

“Beauty you’re born with, but brains you earn.”


Actual conversation I had with my friend while reading this:

Them: What is this book about?

Me: Assassin’s.

Them: Do you ever read books that aren’t about murder?

me: Not really.


There is so much I need to say about this book!!! It was utterly incredible (I gave it a four out of five stars). I have a list of things I loved about this book so here we go:

  1. There is a shadow cat in this book (as in a cat made of shadows) and he is hella witty and sassy. Honestly this non-cat was my favourite character, without a doubt!
  2. The main character, Mia, was not automatically the best at everything she did. This actually made me so happy, because in a lot of books I read, the main character is the best almost right away. Even at the end of this book, she isn’t the best at all of her classes, which makes me sooooooo happy.
  3. There are footnotes throughout Nevernight (I have some issues with them however…) I loved the small witty footnotes, they made me laugh.
  4. These characters were all incredible and have so much sass (I don’t know if I have every told you this, but sassy characters are my ultimate favourite)
  5. The foreshadowing in this book was amazing, but also kind of makes me want to pull my hair out because I SHOULD HAVE SEEN IT COMING!
  6. At the beginning of the book, Mia is not described as being incredible beautiful.
  7. THE FLASH BACKS GIVE ME LIFE. And not because awful things are happening to characters (I’m not a monster) but because of the transitions from past to present tense are amazing. There will be one line or phase used in a flash back and then within the couple of present time paragraphs a similar line is used to draw parallels and I LOVE IT!

I went into this book expecting nothing but a shadow cat, but I have finished this book immensely happy with what I read. Although it should be noted that although this book has a sixteen year old main character, it is not exactly YA. In fact I’m lead to believe Jay Kristoff said this (he did actually say this as I took it from his FAQ page):

THE NEVERNIGHT CHRONICLE is a different beast. The protagonist is a sixteen year old girl. Does that automatically make it YA? My editors say “Definitely not, and who the hell let you out of your cage? Get back to work”.

These books are about an assassin. They are, as you may expect, somewhat violent as a result. They also have sex scenes (and now I have to contemplate the fact that my mother is going to read them *shudders*). I’d rate them MA (or NA if you prefer) and describe them as “crossover books”. But they’ll be found in the adult Fantasy section of your bookstore.

Also there is a lot of swearing in this book, and a wide range of it as well. So just warning you. However, it was still amazing


And before I forget to tell you my issue with the footnotes,

there are so many at the beginning it is so hard to keep up. However, they do slow down as the story goes on. It also isn’t necessary to read them all (at least I hope not because I didn’t).

Instead, I found myself reading a sentence of every footnote, to decided whether or not the information was actually useful to the story. As in, I didn’t exactly need to know the history of something, so I didn’t read it. However, I did need to know what on earth was up with the suns in this book, so I read that one. And in case you don’t feel like reading that footnote, there are three suns that all move at different speeds and about every two and a half year there is TRUEDARK where all the suns are finally down.


My goodread’s review can be found here otherwise…

Until next time,

One thought on “Nevernight by Jay Kristoff || Book Review

Leave a Reply

