Diabolic by S. J Kincaid || Book Review

“Diabolics are so creepy,” Neveni said.
I smiled at her. Yes, I supposed we were.

THIS BOOK WAS AMAZING AND I LOVE IT!

The Diabolic was a very interest book indeed, and to be entirely honest, I did not actually know it was syfy. I went into this thinking it was a dystopian (which I guess it kind of it maybe?) but was very surprised to find out it was set in space. I guess I should have read the blurb a bit better “… galaxy…”

The setting reminded me of The Lunar Chronicles, in particular Winter when they are on the moon, but purely because TLC is the only syfy book I have read. In this world most people live in spaceships around various stars while some live on planets and I found that very interesting. Especially to see Nemesis’, the main character, reaction when she visits a planet and discovers what lightning it.

Nemesis, who by the way is a Diabolic (meaning she is not human but rather created to defend a particular person, in this case Donia) was an incredible main character. Although I found it hard to connect with her at the beginning of the novel, by the end I was so emotionally attached and have no idea what to feel now.

There are some rather amazing plot twist in this book, although some of them I saw coming, I was caught of guard with a few of them and am also kind of confused about who I am meant to trust in the end. I feel like someone is lying but I also feel like I should trust them, I’ll have to wait for the next book.

Speaking of a second book, I am lead to believe that this book was meant to be a stand alone but after so many good reviews it is not being turned into a trilogy.

There were a few things I didn’t particularly like (which is why I gave this book a 4 instead of a 5/5). In this world, they are split in their beliefs of how the world was created, some believe they are formed from cosmo dust while others believe in electrons and all that jazz. But I sort of found it hard to follow along in the beginning when this was all explained so I have no idea what groups of people believe in what.

Also, in this world, there are humans, diabolics and a few other engineered “creatures” so I’m a little confused on what Employees and Excess’ are but it didn’t matter all too much.

I did find this book to be immensely entertaining and highly recommend it!


my Goodread’s review can he found here

Until next time,

One thought on “Diabolic by S. J Kincaid || Book Review

Leave a Reply

