The Crowns of Croswald by D.E Night || Book Review

I think the very first thing I should say about this book is that it is BEAUTIFUL. Both inside and out.

The cover is hands down my favourite cover of all times and the chapter headings had me falling deeper in love with this book.

The content of the book was also spectacular earning a solid five out of five stars. I honestly could not put this book down. I physically could not do it. I read for an entire day at school. I HAD SCHOOLWORK TO DO. I don’t regret it though because I cannot get enough of this book.


Book description:

In Croswald, the only thing more powerful than dark magic is one secret…

For sixteen years Ivy Lovely has been hidden behind an enchanted boundary that separates the mundane from the magical. When Ivy crosses the border, her powers awaken. Curiosity leads her crashing through a series of adventures at the Halls of Ivy, a school where students learn to master their magical blood and the power of Croswald’s mysterious gems. When Ivy’s magic––and her life––is threatened by the Dark Queen, she scrambles to unearth her history and save Croswald before the truth is swept away forever.


If you have read any reviews on this book before you might have heard that it is a little bit like Harry Potter, but if I’m being honest with you, a lot of books that involve a magic school are like Harry Potter. I actually think this book was rather unique and even if there are a few similarities, I would be willing to argue that this book was better. I felt way more connect to the characters and more invested in The Crown’s of Croswald.

Here is a list of what I liked:

  • Pies
  • Cute little baby dragon
  • Crowns that give people magic abilities (Although I think Rebecca is shady)
  • Main character who knows she should be following the rules but also doesn’t give a damn
  • A little bit of mystery
  • Magic! Magic! Magic!
  • Potions
  • Glangerie bottle
  • Different types of magic, you can either be a royal (who are given crowns which enable them to do magic) or a  Scrivenerist (who are people with magic in their blood (I’m pretty sure) but only a little, and actually spend their lives researching and looking after royals)
  • Awesome writing that had me immersed in the story
  • Short chapters

What I am looking forward to in the future of this series:

  • More baby dragon
  • More pies
  • A bigger glimspe into Isabella’s backstory
  • Figuring out how the hell the dark queen got to where she is
  • Finding the magic stones
  • Figuring out what is so good about The Town
  • Can there be more school please???
  • Going to the Hallow thingy again

My goodread’s review can be found here

I was sent a review copy of this book in exchange for a review, however, all opinion and thoughts are my own.

Until next time,

Leave a Reply

